The Renaissance

I’ve been asked to write my personal story…but honestly how can I write my story when I don’t even know where it truly begins?

In the past 21 years, I’ve undergone so much change within myself and my life that growth has been an ever evolving and reoccurring factor (as it should be).

I’ve been alive for 21 years but yet, I feel different in a way that I’ve never experienced before. I feel alive. I feel as though I’m living and not simply existing anymore.

It’s taken me 21 years, but for once in my life, I feel whole, complete and at home in my own skin. I feel peace. I feel Zen, I feel…as though for the first time in my life I’m actually looking through my own eyes. Does that even make sense? It can’t, can it?

After 21 years, after pain, lack, and the overall roller coaster ride filled with ups and downs called life, I feel as though I’ve met Talia for the first time. It’s as though I was subconsciously asleep, going through the everyday motions of this monotonous routine that I called life…but last semester changed all that. Maybe it was the art, maybe it was my inability to fit into a mold anymore, maybe it was the moments of enlightenment at God’s Thumb, regardless, the light bulb switched on and a spark was ignited.

So that being said, how can I write my story when I feel as though I’ve just begun?

Sitting pensive in a room, where incense burns and a lava lamp lights my surroundings, I can’t find the words to begin my story, because to me before this year, I did not exist. I was not I, I was not me. I was a tamed spirit with a sleeping soul trapped in a body that was searching for the missing puzzle piece. That’s not an existence to me, nor a noteworthy one at that.

You want a story… that’s it. I did not exist, and in the fall of 2014, I was reborn for the second time. This is my story. I, Rain, was born into a world filled with colors, still moments and beauty at every turn. The color green gave birth to me, and it is in that color, that I find comfort. I am I, and in this knew found knowledge, life was never more bittersweet.

I praise Jah for his insight and awakening/freeing of my spirit/soul.

– Rain

Leave a Reply

